A. Sreenivasan and S.X. Arockiasamy endowment awards presented on 13-08-2022

Prelude: Approached the Principal and the head of Zoology department of Guru Nanak College, Chennai for facilities, to conduct the Oratorical Competition programme on Fisheries and Aquaculture among the students who are studying Zoology/Advanced Zoology & Biotechnology in city colleges. Contacted the head of departments of Zoology either in person or through WhatsApp messages. A total of 34 students from city colleges took part on the afternoon of 10th August 2022 between 14.00 and 19.30 hrs at the Department of Zoology of Guru Nanak College, of which 9 students were selected, 4 for A. Sreenivasan award and 5 for S.X. Arockiasamy award.

A. Sreenivasan award:

- 1. Ms Subasri Rajkiran, B.Sc., Guru Nanak College
- 2. Ms M. Manimekalai, M.Sc., Queen Mary's College
- 3. Ms. K. Aaminah Farheen, M.Sc., Ethiraj College
- 4. Mr S. Deena Dayal, M.Sc., Loyola College

S.X. Arockiasamy award:

- 1. Ms S. Suruthi Abinaya, B.Sc., Meenakshi College
- 2. Ms. M. Trisha, B.Sc., Meenakshi College
- 3. Mr P.R Vignesh, M.Sc., Loyola college
- 4. Ms S. Thahseen Fathima, B.Sc., Justice Basheer Ahmed Sayeed College
- 5. Ms V. Madhusree, B.Sc., Women Christian College

Acknowledgements: The FTF thanks Dr. M.G. Raghunathan, Principal & Dr. J. Jayanthi, Head of Zoology dept. of Guru Nanak College for providing facilities in the conduct of Oratorical Competition programme, while we thank all the head of department of Zoology of city colleges for encouraging and forwarding the students to take part in this programme. The great effort and personal approach by our member Dr. P. Gandheeswari, former Professor of Zoology, Queen Mary's College has made this programme highly successful, for which, the Forum salutes her.



Mr. A. Sreenivasan
Former Joint Director of Fisheries
Govt. of Tamil Nadu

- Born on 1-07-1924 at Agaramcheri, North Arcot District, Tamil Nadu.
- Higher Secondary education at Muthialpet, Tamil Nadu.
- B.Sc. degree in Chemistry from Chennai Pachaiyappa's College & University of Madras's Biochemistry Laboratory.
- Entered into Govt. service as Research Assistant in Dept. of Fisheries in 1946.
- Served in Andhra Pradesh, Chennai, Kozhikode, Pulicat, etc.; put up 35 years & 6 months service.
- Published over 200 scientific/ technical papers.
- Retired as Joint Director of Fisheries in 1982.
- Served as Fisheries Advisor to Sri Lankan Government.
- Visited Canada, Japan, Nepal, Poland, Singapore, Sri Lanka, the Philippines, United Kingdom and United States of America.
- Donated Rs. 1 lakh to FTF; Interest accrued to be spent for encouragement of B.Sc./M.Sc. Zoology students who could excel in competitive talk on fisheries and aquaculture.
- Reached the heavenly abode on 30-07-2017.



Mr. S.X. Arockiasamy
Former Deputy Director of Fisheries
Govt. of Tamil Nadu

- Born on 18-01-1921 at Chatrapatti in Ramanathapuram district, Tamil Nadu.
- B.A. in Zoology at American College, Madurai.
- Prior to Independence, trained in fisheries in Bengal.
- Served in Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh; Cuddalore, Bhavani Sagar, Madurai, Chennai, Tuticorin, Nagercoil and Coimbatore in Tamil Nadu.
- Major line of work was in freshwater capture fisheries.
- Retired as Deputy Director in 1976.
- Reached the heavenly abode on 13-01-1995.



Mr A. Sreenivasan Endowment Award



(L to R) Dr. A.R. Thirunavukkarasu, Chairman, FTF, Ms. Siva Lakshmi, receiving the award (on behalf of Ms. K. Aaminah Farheen, Ist year M.Sc. Zoology) and Dr. D. Leelavathi, Assistant Professor, Ethiraj College for Women



(L to R) Dr. P. Ravichandran, Former Member-Secretary, Coastal Aquaculture Authority & Senior Member of FTF and Ms. Subasri Rajkiran, B.Sc. Advanced Zoology & Biotechnology, Guru Nanak College



(L to R) Dr. A.R. Thirunavukkarasu, Chairman, FTF Dr. P. Gandheeswari, Former Professor of Zoology, Queen Mary's College & Senior member of FTF and Ms. M. Manimekalai, M.Sc. Zoology, Queen Mary's College



(L to R) Dr. A.R. Thirunavukkarasu, Chairman, FTF, Dr. T.C. Santiago, Former Principal Scientist of CIBA & Senior Member of FTF and Mr. S. Deena Dayal, M.Sc. Zoology, Loyola College

Mr S.X. Arockiasamy Endowment Award



(L to R) Dr. A.R. Thirunavukkarasu, Chairman, FTF, Mr. P. Mohanakrishnan, former Deputy Manager, NABARD & Senior member of FTF, Mr. P. Mahesh (F/o Ms. M. Trisha), Ms. M. Trisha, & Ms. S. Suruthi Abinaya, B.Sc. Advanced Zoology & Biotechnology, Meenakshi College, Mr. T. Saravanan (F/o Ms. S. Suruthi Abinaya) and Dr. S. Noorjehan Beevi, Additional Director of Fisheries, Govt. of Tamil Nadu



(L to R) Dr. R. Moses Inbaraj, former Head of Zoology Dept., Madras Christian College, Ms. S. Thahseen Fathima, B.Sc. Advanced Zoology & Biotechnology, Justice Basheer Ahmed Sayeed College and Mr. M.A. Shahul Hameed, F/o Ms. S. Thahseen Fathima



(L to R) Mr. P. Mohanakrishnan, former Deputy Manager, NABARD & Senior member of FTF, Mr. P. Thirumilu, Treasurer, FTF, Dr. A.R. Thirunavukkarasu, Chairman, FTF, Mr. M.S. Dhanasekharan, former Deputy Director of Fisheries (Engg.), Govt. of Tamil Nadu & Senior member of FTF and Ms. V. Madhusree, III Year B.Sc. Advanced Zoology & Biotechnology, Women Christian College



(L to R) Dr. A.R. Thirunavukkarasu, Chairman, FTF, Dr. R. Soundararajan, former Principal Scientist, NBFGR, Lucknow & Senior member of FTF and Mr. P.R. Vignesh, Ist year M.Sc. Advanced Zoology & Biotechnology, Loyola College



All the winners of A. Sreenivasan & S.X. Arockiasamy Endowment awards with the donor Mrs. Annie Cecil Chandra, (fourth from left) D/o Mr. S.X. Arockiasamy & w/o Dr. T.C. Santiago and Dr. P. Gandheeswari (second from right)

K. Chidambaram Memorial Award for the year 2021



(L to R) Dr. A.R. Thirunavukkarasu, Chairman, FTF, Mr. K. Rangaraju, former Additional Director of Fisheries, Govt. of Tamil Nadu & Senior Member of FTF Dr. S. Noorjehan Beevi, Additional Director of Fisheries, Govt. of Tamil Nadu and Dr. G. Jegatheesan, former Dean, Fisheries College & Research Institute, Tuticorin & Senior Member of FTF



Dr. Inayathullah, M/s Shrimp Care Solutions, Nagapattinam, Tamil Nadu (middle) receiving the award from Mr. V. Venkatesan, former Director, MPEDA, Cochin & Senior Member of FTF (left). Dr. A.R. Thirunavukkarasu, Chairman (right)



(L to R) Dr. A.R. Thirunavukkarasu, Chairman, FTF, Dr. S.M. Pillai, former Principal Scientist of CIBA & Senior Member of FTF, Mr. K. Ilanchellian, M/s S.S.S. Marine Fish Farms, Puliyanthurai of Sirkali Taluk, Mayiladuthurai District, Tamil Nadu, Mrs Elanchellian, Mr Elanchellian's daughter & mother



(L to R) Mr. P. Thirumilu, Treasurer, FTF, Dr. A.R. Thirunavukkarasu, Chairman, FTF, Dr. J.K. Sundaray, Principal Scientist, CIFA, Bhubaneswar, Odisha and Dr. P. Gandheeswari, former Professor, Queen Mary's College, Chennai & Senior Member of FTF



(L to R) Dr. R. Subburaj, Asst. Chief Technical Officer, CIBA & Senior Member, FTF, Dr. A.R. Thirunavukkarasu, Chairman, FTF, Mr. H.S. Gajanan M/s Canares Aquaculture LLP, Holanagadde village, Kumta Taluk, Uttara Kannada, Dr. T.C. Santiago, former Principal Scientist, CIBA & Senior member of FTF & Mr. V.S. Karthik Gowda, M/s Canares Aquaculture

The award function was organized by

The Fisheries Technocrats Forum, Chennai

